Bay Area Sports Fan!

A blog for a Bay Area Sports Fan

ARod Story Makes Me Sick

Posted by davefowkes on 02/07/2009

For those with their heads stuck in the sports world sand today, Alex Rodriguez reportedly tested positive for steroids back in 2003. This ticks me off for a number of reasons. Yet none of them have anything to do with how I feel about him as a player.

First, this is just another huge distraction. Can’t we just play the game? For the next two weeks we will have an endless amount of talk about ARod this, ARod that. Did he or didn’t he. Are his home runs legitimate or not and then my favorite, does he belong in the hall of fame. I just don’t care. Pitchers and catchers report in a couple of weeks. Let’s talk real baseball. Then at the end of March we can select our fantasy teams. And the real deal starts in April!

Second, the thing that pisses me off the most is what happened to privacy and confidentiality in the sports world? Those steroid tests were randomly done in 2003 to determine how rampant a problem steroids were in baseball. The results were to be private and confidential! Yet, here we are 6 years later and this report services? For what purpose? To distract us from the game itself that so many love!

Third, and most important to me, I know I am in the minority here but I remind you that these players that tested positive have done nothing wrong! I was going to save this point for a Bonds post that will be coming in the next couple of days, but here we go. Baseball had no rules against steroids! Players knew others were juicing, owners and managers certainly knew it, and the fans had to know. We all looked the other way because we liked to see the ball floating out of the park. The uproar finally began in the early part of this decade, and that is when the rules went into effect! Anyone doing steroids now I would feel differently about. But as for those playing in the “steroid era” I just present them as guys doing what everyone else was doing!

My conclusion, we will have a month long debate that will drive my crazy. All for something that happened back in 2003! I am so tired of these off the field stories. Can’t we just play ball!!!

Leave a Reply

 
